Published On: January 12, 2021Categories: Chocolate

When it comes to chocolate, there is no shortage of options for those with a sweet-tooth.

Chocolate products come in all sorts of varieties, including milk, dark, white, semi-sweet, bitter-sweet, raw, and modelling – and those are just a few of the chocolate descriptors we often see in super markets and sweet shops.

This plethora of options often leads to confusion amongst vegan chocolate lovers, and brings about all sorts of questions, like “is white chocolate vegan?”

What is White Chocolate?

Although recipes can vary widely, in general, white chocolate is made using a blend of sugar, cocoa butter, milk products, vanilla, and lecithin. Chocolate solids are conspicuous by their absence from that list, which is why many people believe that white chocolate isn’t actually chocolate. But it’s not quite that simple.

Depending on where you live, there are different rules surrounding the marketing and labelling of chocolate products. In Canada, the Canadian Food Inspection Agency sets the rules for the labelling requirements for confectionery, chocolate and snack food products, and they consider white chocolate to be a chocolate product because it is “derived from one or more cocoa products”.

In the United States, the Food and Drug Administration has a similar definition with another qualification. They require that a product must have a cocoa butter content of at least 20 percent to qualify as white chocolate.

In both cases, the definition of white chocolate hinges on the presence of cocoa, an ingredient of chocolate, not chocolate itself. So, even though bakers and confectioners might still argue about it, white chocolate is considered chocolate.

What is Veganism?

Many people define veganism in their own way, but a broadly accepted definition is that vegans abstain from the use of animal products, particularly in diet, and reject the commodification of animals and their products.

So, is White Chocolate Vegan?

So, on the face of it, white chocolate cannot be vegan because it contains animal products (i.e. milk products), right? Well, it doesn’t have to be that way.

Most white chocolate products you find on a supermarket shelf are likely to contain milk products, which disqualifies them from vegan status. But white-chocolate-loving vegans have figured out how to ditch the dairy and use plant-based substitutes, proving that….

It is possible to have vegan white chocolate!

How Can I Tell the Difference Between White Chocolate and Vegan White Chocolate?

Making this distinction comes down to carefully reading product labels.

As we’ve already seen, what separates vegan and non-vegan chocolates is the presence of animal products. Milk powder or milk solids are often used in white chocolate products, so watch out for those.

These days, there are an increasing number of non-dairy chocolate products (including white chocolate) that use a variety of alternatives to dairy, derived from things such coconuts, almonds, soy and oats.

In short, if the label on a white chocolate product does not list dairy ingredients, it’s a safe assumption that it’s vegan.

What do You Need to Make Vegan White Chocolate?

If you want to make vegan white chocolate, you should be able to find everything you need for this dairy-free delight fairly easily at any major grocery store.

Although proportions will vary slightly from recipe to recipe, vegan white chocolate is surprisingly easy to make. You will need:

  • Cocoa butter
  • Powdered sugar
  • Vanilla extract
  • A dairy alternative, like coconut oil, or a non-dairy milk powder, like rice milk powder
  • Salt

Vegan white chocolate recipes generally call for a ratio of cocoa butter to powdered sugar of roughly 2:1, but you can adjust the proportions to make it as sweet as you like. Salt and vanilla are minor ingredients, so you won’t need more than about a teaspoon of each. For the dairy substitute, vegan white chocolate recipes call for roughly half the volume of the amount of powdered sugar used.

The process is amazingly simple. All you need to do is melt the cocoa butter in a double boiler before mixing in the rest of the ingredients. Once all the ingredients are well mixed, pour the vegan white chocolate into molds and place them in the freezer until they set. Voila!

Get Your Vegan White Chocolate from Pure Lovin’ Chocolate

Based in beautiful Victoria, British Columbia, Pure Lovin’ Chocolate is run by the founding mother-daughter duo, Cyndy and Leah. Together they create delicious vegan confections and chocolates using the finest local organic ingredients. They strive to make products that are pure and simple but still decadent and delicious. Their vegan white chocolate is out of this world!

Pure Lovin’ Chocolates delivers across Canada and the United States, and they offer free shipping on Canadian orders of more than $99. Enjoy!

Recent Posts

Tags

Related posts